Abhorsen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN: 0061975109

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 528

View: 1277

The apocalyptic conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Abhorsen series—an epic fantasy experience not to be missed. The Abhorsen Sabriel and King Touchstone are missing, leaving only Lirael—newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting—to stop the Destroyer. If Orannis's unspeakable powers are unleashed, it will mean the end of all Life. With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, and the help of her companions, Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the evil destructor—before it is too late. . . .

Abhorsen: The Old Kingdom 3

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Hot Key Books

ISBN: 1471404021

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6376

The third incredible installment of Garth Nix's bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series, perfect for readers of Philip Pullman Besieged on all sides, Lirael, Sameth and the Disreputable Dog are in for the fight of their lives. Chlorr of the Mask, under the control of the enormously powerful Necromancer Hedge, is determined to free Orannis the Destroyer - the greatest and most powerful Free Magic creature in the history of the Old Kingdom. Only Lirael, newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting, and only just beginning to understand her powers as a Remembrancer, has any chance of stopping the Destroyer - although she has no idea how. To make matters worse, Sameth's best friend, Nick, seems to be helping the Destroyer, and there has been no word from the Abhorsen Sabriel or King Touchstone for days. With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, and the rather mixed help of her companions, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the Destroyer. The Old Kingdom - and the world - is depending on her... Praise for Garth Nix: 'Sabriel is a winner . . . a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence' Philip Pullman, author of the His Dark Materials series 'One of the best worldbuilders in fantasy . . . I love the Old Kingdom series' Brandon Sanderson 'There is no joy like returning to the Old Kingdom . . . Nix sets the standard for fantasy' Leigh Bardugo 'One of the greatest living fantasy writers . . . I will never get enough of the Old Kingdom' Sarah J. Maas Bonus Content: This ebook is packed with bonus content like Garth's A to Z of his author influences and, for devices that support audio, 8 clips of an exclusive interview with Garth.

Clariel

The Lost Abhorsen

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062216805

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 416

View: 6230

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare. Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?

The Old Kingdom Collection

Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen, Clariel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062375881

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 2392

View: 6842

Game of Thrones fans will love the New York Times bestselling Abhorsen series. Sabriel, the first installment in the series, launched critically acclaimed author Garth Nix onto the fantasy scene as a rising star. This collection gathers all four titles in the popular series, including the long-awaited prequel, Clariel. Sabriel: Since childhood, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who refuse to stay dead. But now her father, the Abhorsen, is missing, and Sabriel must cross into that world to find him. There she confronts an evil that threatens much more than her life and comes face-to-face with her own hidden destiny. . . . Lirael: Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. She doesn't even have the Sight—the ability to see into possible futures—that is the very birthright of the Clayr. Nevertheless she must undertake a desperate mission under the growing shadow of an ancient evil—one that threatens to break the very boundary between Life and Death itself. With only her faithful companion, the Disreputable Dog, to help her, Lirael must find the courage to seek her own hidden destiny. Abhorsen: The Abhorsen Sabriel and King Touchstone are missing, leaving only Lirael—newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting—to stop the Destroyer. With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the evil destructor—before it is too late. . . . Clariel: Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous creature is loose in the city and there is a plot brewing against the King. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers.

Across the Wall

A Tale of the Abhorsen and Other Stories

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0061975117

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 9277

From renowned fantasy author of the Old Kingdom series, Garth Nix, comes an entertaining collection of stories, including one Old Kingdom novella. Across the Wall brings together an electic mix of Garth Nix’s writing spanning several years, beginning with the novella set in the Old Kingdom, “Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case,” winner of two Aurealis Awards. The collection also includes two tales inspired by Arthurian legend, a war story, a western, a traditional tale with a twist and a hilarious choose-your-own-adventure spoof. The volume is introduced by the author himself and, even better, so is each story—giving context, anecdotes and a glimpse into the exceptional mind of Garth Nix.

A Quest of Her Own

Essays on the Female Hero in Modern Fantasy

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lori M. Campbell

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 1476617635

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 300

View: 8810

This collection of new essays seeks to define the unique qualities of female heroism in literary fantasy from Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings in the 1950s through the present. Building upon traditional definitions of the hero in myth and folklore as the root genres of modern fantasy, the essays provide a multi-faceted view of an important fantasy character type who begins to demonstrate a significant presence only in the latter 20th century. The essays contribute to the empowerment and development of the female hero as an archetype in her own right.

Sabriel: The Old Kingdom 1

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Garth Nix

Publisher: Hot Key Books

ISBN: 1471404005

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9991

Begin a new adventure: the first thrilling installment of Garth Nix's bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series. Sabriel has spent most of her young life far away from the magical realm of the Old Kingdom, and the Dead that roam it. But all that changes when a creature from across the Wall arrives at her all-girls boarding school. The creature carries a message from her father, the Abhorsen - the magical protector of the realm whose task it is to bind and send back to Death those that won't stay Dead. Since the demise of the Royal Family the Dead have become stronger and more fearless, and now it seems their forces are threatening to overwhelm the Old Kingdom. Sabriel's father has been trapped in Death by a dangerous Free Magic creature. He urges her to return to her homeland, and to discover who or what is behind this uprising. Armed with her father's binding-bells and sword, she soon finds companions in Mogget, an ancient spirit bound into the body of a cat, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage whom Sabriel frees from a long, magical imprisonment. As the three travel deep into the Old Kingdom, threats mount on all sides. And every step brings them closer to a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death - and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own destiny. With over 1 million Old Kingdom books sold in the UK, this timeless fantasy series is perfect for readers of Philip Pullman. Praise for Garth Nix: 'Sabriel is a winner . . . a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence' Philip Pullman, author of the His Dark Materials series 'One of the best worldbuilders in fantasy . . . I love the Old Kingdom series' Brandon Sanderson 'There is no joy like returning to the Old Kingdom . . . Nix sets the standard for fantasy' Leigh Bardugo 'One of the greatest living fantasy writers . . . I will never get enough of the Old Kingdom' Sarah J. Maas Bonus Content: The ebook edition is packed with bonus content like a "How I Write" essay and, for devices that support audio, 12 clips of an exclusive interview with Garth.