I'll Be Gone in the Dark

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michelle McNamara

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571345166

Category: True Crime

Page: 416

View: 8024

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GORDON BURN PRIZE 2018 A masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer - the elusive serial rapist turned murderer who terrorised California for over a decade - from Michelle McNamara, the gifted journalist who died tragically while investigating the case. 'You'll be silent forever, and I'll be gone in the dark.' For more than ten years, a mysterious and violent predator committed fifty sexual assaults in Northern California before moving south, where he perpetrated ten sadistic murders. Then he disappeared, eluding capture by multiple police forces and some of the best detectives in the area. Three decades later, Michelle McNamara, a true crime journalist who created the popular website TrueCrimeDiary.com, was determined to find the violent psychopath she called the Golden State Killer. Michelle pored over police reports, interviewed victims, and embedded herself in the online communities that were as obsessed with the case as she was. I'll Be Gone in the Dark - the masterpiece McNamara was writing at the time of her sudden death - offers an atmospheric snapshot of a moment in American history and a chilling account of a criminal mastermind and the wreckage he left behind. It is also a portrait of a woman's obsession and her unflagging pursuit of the truth. Framed by an introduction by Gillian Flynn and an afterword by her husband, Patton Oswalt, the book was completed by Michelle's lead researcher and a close colleague. Utterly original and compelling, it is destined to become a true crime classic - and may at last unmask the Golden State Killer.

Die gelbe Tapete

Erzählung

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Publisher: Dörlemann eBook

ISBN: 3038209589

Category: Fiction

Page: 96

View: 2622

Eine junge Frau braucht nach der Geburt ihres Kindes Erholung, meint ihr Ehemann und mietet ein Sommerhaus, damit sie zur nötigen Ruhe kommt. Die junge Mutter fühlt sich wohl in dem schönen Haus, einzig der Raum mit der gelben Tapete bereitet ihr Unbehagen. Die in sich verschlungenen Muster scheinen von Tag zu Tag bedrohlicher und flößen ihr Angst ein. Was nur verbirgt sich hinter der Tapete? Unheimlich und beklemmend liest sich diese Geschichte in der Tradition von Edgar Allan Poe. Ein Schlüsseltext der amerikanischen Literatur in der Neuübersetzung von Christian Detoux.

Aussie Angels 18: Shark in the Dark

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Margaret Clark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0734411510

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 6073

Mum is out on the surfboard and narrowly misses being attacked by a shark - or maybe it was just a false alarm. When Alice the labrador falls off the rocks and nearly becomes shark bait though, Meg and Mike, the Aussie Angels, aren't so sure! Meg is terrified, but some visiting scientists give her the chance to face her fears. SHARK IN THE DARK is the eighteenth instalment in a series loved by children all over Australia.

The Picador Book of 40

40 writers inspired by a number

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charlotte Greig

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447213351

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 80

View: 2190

For Picador’s 40th anniversary we asked 40 writers to respond to the idea of 40 in whatever way they liked. The results are spectacular: thoughtful, funny, poignant, as brilliantly diverse as the Picador list. Pieces include the temporal (what I was doing 40 years ago; the mid-life crisis of a 40-year-old whose lifespan coincides with Picador’s), the quirky (gifts I’d like to receive for my 40th birthday; 40 things to do before I die; what it’s like never to have been on any of those Best Under 40 lists), and the downright clever (40-word synopses of great works of literature), along with some astonishingly good short stories and poems touching on mortality and ageing. The authors range from great established writers on the list, like Alice Sebold, John Banville and Graham Swift, to new stars, such as Emma Straub, Belinda McKeon and Megan Abbott, and 33 more!

The Ex Who Glowed in the Dark

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Sally Berneathy

Publisher: Sally Berneathy

ISBN: 1939551110

Category: Fiction

Page: 276

View: 8077

Amanda was divorcing her lying, cheating husband Charley when he was murdered. Now she’s stuck with his ghost and finds herself entangled in a kidnapping. The younger brother of her assistant, Dawson, has been kidnapped. Strange, though, that Dawson's never mentioned a brother, and when an e-mail arrives demanding a ransom for the boy, it's not the usual large sum of money in unmarked bills they want, it's computer code. WTF? Do the kidnappers really exist? Is Dawson’s brother only an Avatar from one of his computer games? Will Amanda ever get rid of Charley? Will she give up her Coke for a Pepsi? Will Global Warming melt her Magnum Double Chocolate ice cream bar? Okay, you need to test that last question for yourself, but the answers to everything else are in this book!

Whispers in the Dark

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Maya Banks

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101553928

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 2314

Nathan is being held captive and is in agony. His saving grace is the voice of an angel who eases his pain and helps him regain enough strength to escape. When he does, she leaves him with a void that he can barely stand. When he escapes and returns to the KGI, he hears her again-now she needs him. Her name is Shae, and she's on the run with her sister. A government group wants to harness their abilities to heal. The KGI wants to help- but can Nathan quiet his soulmate's doubts and convince her that they are meant to face these dangers together?

In The Dark Streets Shining

A touching wartime saga of hope and new beginnings

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Pamela Evans

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755372808

Category: Fiction

Page: 301

View: 7303

A young widow's actions in war-torn London ensure her life is never the same again... In the Dark Streets Shining is a gripping and touching wartime saga by much-loved writer Pam Evans, which vividly captures the heartbreak and courage of those battling to survive in Blitz-torn London. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Rosie Goodwin. When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep looking for his son, and everything changes... What readers are saying about In the Dark Streets Shining: 'This book brings the blitz and the devastation in war torn London to the reader through the lives of one family. A great read' 'A book that will make you laugh out loud and weep buckets. Beautifully written, the harshness of war coupled with the stoicism of those living on rations, endless air raids, losing loved ones and a frightened little boy who tugs at everyone's heart strings. You won't put it down until the last word has left the final page' 'Never dark and always shining!'

The Plains of Passage (with Bonus Content)

Earth's Children, Book Four

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jean M. Auel

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 0307767655

Category: Fiction

Page: 768

View: 4084

This eBook includes the full text of the novel plus the following additional content: • An exclusive preview chapter from Jean M. Auel’s The Land of Painted Caves, on sale in hardcover March 29, 2011 • An Earth’s Children® series sampler including free chapters from the other books in Jean M. Auel’s bestselling series • A Q&A with the author about the Earth’s Children® series Ayla, the heroine first introduced in The Clan of the Cave Bear, is known and loved by millions of readers. Now, in The Plains of Passage, Ayla’s story continues. Ayla and Jondalar set out on horseback across the windswept grasslands of Ice Age Europe. To the hunter-gatherers of their world--who have never seen tame animals--Ayla and Jondalar appear enigmatic and frightening. The mystery surrounding the woman, who speaks with a strange accent and talks to animals with their own sounds, is heightened by her uncanny control of a large, powerful wolf. The tall, yellow-haired man who rides by her side is also held in awe, not only for the magnificent stallion he commands, but also for his skill as a crafter of stone tools, and for the new weapon he devises, the spear-thrower. In the course of their cross-continental odyssey, Ayla and Jondalar encounter both savage enemies and brave friends. Together they learn that the vast and unknown world can be difficult and treacherous, but breathtakingly beautiful and enlightening as well. All the pain and pleasure bring them closer to their ultimate destination, for the orphaned Ayla and the wandering Jondalar must reach that place on earth they can call home. As sweeping and spectacular as the land she creates, Jean M. Auel’s The Plains of Passage is an astonishing novel of discovery, danger, and love, a triumph for one of the world’s most original and popular authors.