Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters

Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva).

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dan SaSuWeh Jones

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 9781338681635

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 176

View: 794

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations. Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood. Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but some are the stuff of nightmares. These thirty-two short stories -- from tales passed down for generations to accounts that could have happened yesterday -- are collected from the thriving tradition of ghost stories in American Indian cultures across North America. Prepare for stories of witches and walking dolls, hungry skeletons, La Llorona and Deer Woman, and other supernatural beings ready to chill you to the bone. Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva). So dim the lights (or maybe turn them all on) and pick up a story...if you dare.

Horrible Live Streaming

Hearing the word "monster", I was somewhat puzzled. "It's those beasts that cultivate immortality. ... Last night, what we encountered was not any ghosts, but some mischievous monsters. Regarding these things, you don't know about them, ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nai Shen

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN: 9781647672188

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 555

A man in a live broadcast with a face that defied the heavens and the earth suddenly discovered that he had an additional mysterious ability. He could collect all sorts of ghosts and evildoers, and from then on, his luck would be limitless. He would open the most horrifying path to a live broadcast in the city ...

Living in the Eighth Day

For, even Satan could not destroy Job's soul, even though he made Job's life miserable. ... That is why there is story after story about the "undead," the ghosts, the mischievous demons and other pseudo-human monsters.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John-Brian Paprock

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781847283153

Category: Religion

Page: 142

View: 734

Pastoral reflections and spiritual guidance from Eastern Oriental Orthodox Christian mission in contemporary America. Written by American priest, Father John-Brian Paprock, the reflections follow the year of holy seasons according to the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church calendar.

Made for Living

... belief in ghosts and fairies who roamed the countryside Halloween night curdling milk, riding peoples' horses to exhaustion, and all such manner of mischief. Any practical joke could then be blamed on these mischievous creatures.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Linda Faltin

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 9781466955776

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 284

View: 291

Based on newspaper columns written by the author between 1980 and 1985, this compilation of personal reflections brings to the reader a fresh and open perspective on those days and times. Incredibly timely, this book offers inspiration, encouragement, and the recognition of the beauty and wonder of ordinary, everyday life. From celebrating high school graduations to ruing the deterioration of good manners, from cherishing friendships to looking honestly at both the joys and difficulties of parenting, Linda's eye and voice are uniquely hers as a woman of faith, inviting the reader in with both common sense about and delight in everyday living.

Monsters in the Movies

The Shining [Stanley Kubrick, 1980] Jack Nicholson as Jack Torrance, driven insane by the ghosts of Overlook Hotel, ... 1995], a liveaction movie (albeit with computer-animated ghosts) based on the Casper the Friendly Ghost comic books ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Landis

Publisher: Dorling Kindersley Ltd

ISBN: 9781409383888

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 320

View: 703

Be afraid, be very afraid...a century of cinema nightmare with John Landis, in ePub format for iPad From B-movie bogeymen and outer space-oddities to big-budget terrors, Monsters in the Movies by horror film maestro John Landis celebrates the greatest monsters ever to creep, fly, slither, stalk or rampage across the Silver Screen. Feast your eyes on a petrifying parade of voracious vampires, flesh-eating zombies and slavering werewolves as Landis explores the historical origins of archetypal monsters. Now in an ePub-friendly condensed format, Monsters in The Movies is filled with the author's own fascinating and entertaining insights into the world of movie-making along with contributions from some of the world's leading directors including Joe Dante and Guillermo del Toro, actors and special-effects wizards. Illustrated with movie stills and posters from the unrivalled archives of the Kobal Collection, the book will keep you entertained right until the curtain comes down. Get ready to sit on the edge of your seat - Monsters in the Movies is a gripping read.

The Life and Works of Ruskin Bond

Bond is also familiar with Indian stories of various types of ghosts— stories of mischievous jinns who can elongate their arms at will ; of ghosts who wait in peepal ... a variety of stories about ghosts , demons , and fairy creatures .

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Meena Khorana

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 0313311854

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 455

Examines the life and works of Ruskin Bond, one of India's most prolific writers in English for all age groups.

The Monster Book

Others claim they are not really ghosts at all, preferring to blame such mischievous destructive activity on witchcraft or ... suggest that poltergeist activity can be attributed to the subconscious psychic energy of those still living.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Christopher Golden

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9780671042592

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 384

View: 337

An official guide to Buffy the Vampire Slayer describes the mythology and influences behind the monsters, ghouls, and characters through interviews with the creators and details of the episodes.

Ghosts

Some even believe these creatures truly existed and continue to walk the earth as living creatures. ... and unknown: the terrifying ghost, the bloodthirsty vampire, the classic Frankenstein, mischievous goblins, enchanting witches, ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Andrew Coddington

Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 9781502609335

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 64

View: 628

For millennia, humanity has searched for an afterlife. Some people have believed fervently in such a place, while others not. Regardless, many cultures around the world have either invented stories about souls trapped on Earth or experienced real supernatural events that convinced them of the existence of ghosts. These creatures have been said to haunt the human world, trapped on Earth until they redeem themselves. Today, ghosts continue to inspire and amaze the human world. This book explores ghost culture and the stories that continue to haunt humanity.

Miraculous Response

The second are “hairy ghost gods” (S. maoguishen), mischievous monsters whose powers can sometimes approximate that of ... cigarettes when they were alive (recall the cigarette offering in the Norman Bethune story recounted earlier).

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Adam Yuet Chau

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 9780804767651

Category: Religion

Page: 336

View: 761

This book-length ethnography of the revival of a popular religious temple in contemporary rural China examines the organizational and cultural logics that inform the staging of popular religious activities. It also explores the politics of the religious revival, detailing the relationships of village-level local activists and local state agents wtih temple associations and temple bosses. Shedding light on shifting state-society relationships in the reform era, this book is of interest to scholars and students in Asian Studies, the social sciences, and religious and ritual studies.

Creatures in the Mist

3 The image of the ghost appearing as a white amorphous shape is common the world over — including among Native Americans ... interested in securing the deaths of people they knew in life; however, they also did other types of mischief, ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gary R. Varner

Publisher: Algora Publishing

ISBN: 9780875865454

Category: Social Science

Page: 210

View: 161

Bringing together a medley of stories, myths, and folklore Gary Varner shares a fascination and respect for humankind's early and contemporary cultures and wonders at similarities across the board. Here, he focuses on "Little People" and giants, animals and were-creatures, and the odd, helpful or threatening ways imputed to our earthly companions including dogs and cats, bats and spiders, and the stories people have told each other about them since time immemorial. Gary Varner has performed a valuable service in these books. [Presenting] lore from about the world, a collector's hoard of traditions rich and strange, ... Varner shows there really are obvious and puzzling similarities between widely separated cultures. Gary Varner has pointed the way to some important cross-cultural readings in the ageless themes of stone and water. - Jeremy Harte, Curator of the Bourne Hall Museum, Surrey, England, in Northern Earth magazine, #103, 2005 Menhirs, Dolmen and Circles of Stone is an excellent guide to large-scale magical stones and stone magic. This book is a must for anyone interested in megalithic sites. Most highly recommended. -PanGaia Magazine, United States As with other books by the same author, this is a book based upon broad research into the subject, stretching across the world. What results is a fascinating weave of stories and images, descriptions of sites and associated tales, that leaves a sense of a thousand deities whispering in the air. Because it is so broad a sweep, the positive outcome is an overreaching perspective of the patterns and commonalities held between human communities - our ancestors - all around the world. The book is a sound overview and provocation toresearch more deeply ourselves, to find alternative visions, tales and interpretations, to find out more about the sacred currents, their depths and importance - both to our ancestors and to ourselves. The author's notations are comprehensive, allowing us easily to follow the clues. A valuable piece of work. -The Druid Network, England * Gary R. Varner is a lecturer and writer on folklore and early religions. He is author of several popular books comparing legends and beliefs around the world, including The Mythic Forest, the Green Man & the Spirit of Nature (Algora 2006); Menhirs, Dolmen and Circles of Stone: The Folklore and Magic of Sacred Stone (Algora 2005); and Sacred Wells: A Study in the History, Meaning, and Mythology of Holy Wells. His approach incorporates details from ancient cultures and from Native American, UK and European, Asian, South Pacific and African folklore. Varner is a member of the American Folklore Society.