Spectacular Sisters

Did you know that having a sister is actually good for you? It makes you happier and healthier! Lots of girls and women say that talking with their sister comforts them through the ups and downs of life. Sisters help each other deal ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Aura Lewis

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062947673

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 208

View: 785

Starring the special bond between sisters throughout history, with beautiful full-color illustrations, this fun and inspiring 208-page biography collection from author-illustrator Aura Lewis is perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z and the Women in Art/Science/Sports series. Sisters are spectacular! They can be your biggest cheerleaders, your most trusted confidants, and your much-needed fashion advisors (as long as they’re not stealing your clothes!). But sisterhood can also be complex: full of rivalry, jealousy, and not-so-friendly competition. From pop culture sensations like the Kardashians/Jenners to civil rights activists Coretta Scott King and Edythe Scott Bagley to tennis superstars Venus and Serena Williams, these sisters—and so many others throughout history—have not only impacted art, culture, and society, but also illustrate the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood. At the end of the day, whether you’re mortal enemies or best friends, spectacular sisters will always have your back. Share this book at home or in the classroom. It's a great source for capsule biographies of a wide variety of powerful women.

Edith Wharton

where she stands immeasurably superior to and different from all but one or two of her less extraordinary, less spectacular sisters. Edith Wharton was rare, lonely, superior, and extraordinary. But she was so, as were a number of other ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alfred Bendixen

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781317195214

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 342

View: 340

First published in 1992, this volume of essays celebrates the revival of Edith Wharton’s critical reputation. It offers a variety of approaches to the work of Wharton and examines largely neglected texts. It differs from many other collections of Wharton criticism in its insistence that the entire body of Wharton’s work deserves attention. This book will be of interest in those studying nineteenth century and American literature.

Oregon

Quilts, Quilt Walks, and Quilter's Affairs In mid-July, the second Saturday of the month, don't miss the spectacular one-day Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show (www .sistersoutdoorquiltshow .com) . It's been a tradition in Sisters for over ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Myrna Oakley

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9780762752492

Category: Travel

Page:

View: 343

With this attractive and easy-to-use guide in hand you'll discover the Oregon you never knew existed. Nine maps and thirteen black-and-white illustrations help you become acquainted with this unknown Oregon.

The Coupling Convention Sex Text and Tradition in Black Women s Fiction

... "the incredible lone achiever who somehow slips through into masculine terrain, where she stands immeasurably superior to and different from all but one or two of her less extraordinary, less spectacular sisters.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ann duCille Associate Professor of English and African American Studies Wesleyan University

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 9780195359114

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 216

View: 110

No Sister s Keeper

The oath was important, and sisters should think hard about it. ... Then Gahrah told her stories about sisters who had broken their oaths, how miserable they were, how alone. ... Her grades are spectacular, especially in history.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jeanne G'Fellers

Publisher: Bella Books

ISBN: 9781594939099

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 730

In a society divided by birth, upbringing, education and status, young Chandrey Brava is raised in a conservative sect, but leaves home at sixteen for the Taelach Training Grounds. Naïve and used to harsh discipline, she doesn’t recognize that Cancelynn Creiloff is playing with her heart. Seeing Cance through a serious injury, Chandrey follows her to the Cleave, a sharply fundamental group being eroded from within by those who welcome the servitude of thralls. Cance’s increasingly vicious treatment of Chandrey raises eyebrows, but no more. Only her family can liberate her, unless she finds allies within the Cleave. There may be one Taelach who can help her: the mysterious Belsas Exzal. Bravery, resilience and stoic resistance are the hallmarks of this prequel to the award-winning No Sister of Mine.

Flight of the Bluebird The Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 3

The Bland Sisters took some tentative bites of their oatmeal. It was not as cold or congealed as ... “Wait,” said Jaundice, looking at her sister. “We've been there. ... “So you know how spectacular it is,” Beatrix said. She sighed.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kara LaReau

Publisher: Abrams

ISBN: 9781683353911

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 176

View: 400

Fasten your seat belts for some unexpected turbulence ahead, as Jaundice and Kale Bland are back for their final unintentional adventure! Now that they’ve returned from the Uncanny Valley to find their home in Dullsville in absolute shambles, the sisters are rescued by high-flying aviatrix Beatrix Airdale. This time, they’re jetting off (literally) to Egypt to uncover the mysteries of a magical scarab. By way of Casablanca and after foiling multiple attacks along the way (thanks to Jaundice’s nautical knot-tying skills and Kale’s super-sleuth powers of observation), the Bland Sisters are reunited with their parents. But it turns out that Mom and Dad aren’t as bland—or as “Bland”—as Jaundice and Kale remember. Thanks to their mother’s old archeology notebook, the Bland Sisters uncover their parents’ real identities and help them achieve victory in one final, family-filled adventure.

Humor in Young Adult Literature

Even after Anna's age and identity are revealed , Andrea is still irked by her little sister's spectacular " coming out . " " Oh , Frank , it's Anna ! " Mother sobbed . " I know that , " Mr. Albright snapped irritably .

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Walter Hogan

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN: 0810850729

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 223

View: 689

Humor in Young Adult Literature: A Time to Laugh celebrates the accomplishments of YA authors acclaimed for producing high-quality comedies. This discussion shows how these works are reinforced, not trivialized, by their humorous content. In bringing together the foremost YA authors of comedies, Hogan illustrates their strengths, similarities, and differences. The book is topical to facilitate a comparison of distinctive treatments by various authors of adolescent life events, such as sibling rivalry and first dates.

Minerva s French Sisters

... have left botany about fifteen years later; Basseporte was already working by 1730 and stopped only in 1780 when she died, a prime example of creative aging. Barret's story is brief and spectacular, Basseporte's marked by steadiness ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nina Rattner Gelbart

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300252569

Category: History

Page: 360

View: 469

A fascinating collective biography of six female scientists in eighteenth-century France, whose stories were largely written out of history This book presents the stories of six intrepid Frenchwomen of science in the Enlightenment whose accomplishments--though celebrated in their lifetimes--have been generally omitted from subsequent studies of their period: mathematician and philosopher Elisabeth Ferrand, astronomer Nicole Reine Lepaute, field naturalist Jeanne Barret, garden botanist and illustrator Madeleine Françoise Basseporte, anatomist and inventor Marie-Marguerite Biheron, and chemist Geneviève d'Arconville. By adjusting our lens, we can find them. In a society where science was not yet an established profession for men, much less women, these six audacious and inspiring figures made their mark on their respective fields of science and on Enlightenment society, as they defied gender expectations and conventional norms. Their boldness and contributions to science were appreciated by such luminaries as Franklin, the philosophes, and many European monarchs. The book is written in an unorthodox style to match the women's breaking of boundaries.

Strange Sisters

Elisa Bizzotto provides a detailed analysis of Aubrey Beardsley's re - writing of the myth of Tannhäuser in a variety of visual , literary and spectacular texts , which ranges from novel and drama to ballet , drawings , make - up and ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Francesca Orestano

Publisher: Peter Lang

ISBN: 3039118404

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 284

View: 720

This collection of essays stems from the conference 'Nineteenth-Century Literature and Aesthetics', which was held at the University of Milan in 2006 and organised by the editors of this volume. The interface between word and image covered in these essays embraces the fields of literature, architecture, painting, photography, music and art criticism. The authors stress the role of aesthetics in a number of contexts ranging from the early 1830s to the fin de siècle and beyond, as far as the last influences of Victorian taste on the early years of the twentieth century. During the nineteenth century the ancient interaction between literature and aesthetics was challenged and criticised by Martineau, Rossetti, Ruskin, Pater, Wilde, Beardsley, Cameron and Carroll, among others: their awareness of the complexity of visual perception problematised the existing categories of realism, artistic conventions, discourse of description, translation and representation. The essays cover almost a century of debate between literature and aesthetics. They focus on the intersection of word and image by emphasising transgressions in art hierarchies, forms and languages, which restyle existing categories and project them into new aesthetic dimensions beyond the conventional idea of the sister arts.