The Gun Ketch

But will he make it back? Fans of John Drake, Patrick O’Brian and Pirates of the Caribbean will love The Gun Ketch, the fifth book in the epic Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures. ‘You could get addicted to this series.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dewey Lambdin

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788632102

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 171

Gunpowder, pirates and mortal danger on the High Seas. It's 1786 and Alan Lewrie has his own ship at last, the Alacrity. Small but deadly, the Alacrity prowls the waters of the Caribbean, protecting British merchants from pirates. A surprising turn of events makes an honest man of the young rake. But not too honest; there’s still time for a few well-planned conquests on land before taking on Calico Jack Finney, the boldest pirate in the Caribbean... But will he make it back? Fans of John Drake, Patrick O’Brian and Pirates of the Caribbean will love The Gun Ketch, the fifth book in the epic Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures. ‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily.’ New York Times Book Review ‘The best naval series since C. S. Forester . . . Recommended.’ Library Journal ‘Fast-moving. . . A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff.’ Kirkus Reviews

The French Admiral

The second action-packed instalment of The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures is perfect for fans of Philip McCutchan, Julian Stockwin and Patrick O’Brian. ‘You could get addicted to this series.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dewey Lambdin

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788632065

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 636

Embroiled in war, Alan Lewrie is in for the fight of his life After being shipped off to the navy, Alan Lewrie has found his sea legs. Although a stark contrast to the social whirl of London, his rise in status to naval officer rather suits him. When, alongside the crew of the Desperate, he finds himself entangled in the siege of Yorktown, he is forced to fight for his life. But rescuing a loyalist family, along with their attractive daughter Caroline, gets Lewrie in even hotter water... The second action-packed instalment of The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures is perfect for fans of Philip McCutchan, Julian Stockwin and Patrick O’Brian. ‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily.’ New York Times Book Review ‘The best naval series since C. S. Forester . . . Recommended.’ Library Journal ‘Fast-moving. . . A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff.’ Kirkus Reviews The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures The King's Coat The French Admiral The King's Commission The King's Privateer The Gun Ketch H.M.S. Cockerel The King’s Commander Jester’s Fortune The King’s Captain Sea of Grey

Havoc s Sword

In Captain Lewrie's tenth roaring adventure on the high seas, it's off to a failing British intervention on the ultra-rich French colony of Saint Domingue, which is wracked by an utterly cruel and bloodthirsty slave rebellion led by ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dewey Lambdin

Publisher:

ISBN: 5558964243

Category:

Page:

View: 566

In Captain Lewrie's tenth roaring adventure on the high seas, it's off to a failing British intervention on the ultra-rich French colony of Saint Domingue, which is wracked by an utterly cruel and bloodthirsty slave rebellion led by Toussaint L'Ouverture, the future father of Haitian independence.

The Pirate Primer

“Ye kin keep the bloody schooner, an' the loot, an' bad cess may it bring ye.”(Billy Doyle, The Gun Ketch 159) bad cess to you [bad sayss t'/ta/ter 'ee/ya/ye/yer] bad luck to you; may you fail; may you meet with misfortune <“Where's ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George Choundas

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781582976860

Category: Reference

Page: 480

View: 368

Ebbry-blastin'-theng ye needs must know-oo to lay tongue liker aargh-thentic pirate, by the devil's twisted tail. Take a tour through the world of piracy with the only authoritative work on the pirate language. A comprehensive course in pirate vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and syntax, The Pirate Primer contains three centuries of distinctive terms and usages uttered by (and attributed to) pirates in film, TV, literature, and history. Discover more than 100 pages of threats, curses, oaths, insults, and epithets; 31 types of pirate drink; 60 different pirate terms for ''woman''; 67 kinds of pirate torture and punishment; 44 distinct definitions of ''aargh''; and more. Each entry in the Primer is accompanied by an excerpt, so you can see the words and phrases used in proper context by actual pirates. And each linguistic concept is introduced by a related anecdote or narrative account, so you can live the language while you learn it. Whether you're simply fascinated by the culture of the Brethren of the Coast or you fancy yourself a modern-day corsair, The Pirate Primer is your guide to authentic pirate speak. Should you ever stare down Davy Jones and he demands proof that you're one who flies no flag, despair not. You'll be able to talk the talk, and no mistake.

Naval Documents Related to the United States Wars with the Barbary Powers

At 9 P. M. fired two guns & burnt two rockets to alarm the Batteries At 6 A. M. ran a Warp to the Store Ketch & Warped her along side - This is the ketch that joined the Squadron on Sunday morning last . No opportunity of discharging ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: United States. Office of Naval Records and Library

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015013446854

Category: Africa, North

Page:

View: 375

Graham s Magazine

It is possible that one of the boats nearest the largest Tripolitan gun - boats was missing next morn- ketch may have been sunk , but none of the prisoners ing , and the people of the port were seen hauling up in Tripoli appear to have ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:32000000684227

Category:

Page:

View: 818

Graham s American Monthly Magazine of Literature Art and Fashion

During the forty years that have known to have been in the ketch , and the well ascersince rolled by , no new ... It is possible that one of the boats nearest the largest Tripolitan gun - boats was missing next morn- ketch may have been ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433100958770

Category:

Page:

View: 944

Hostile Force

Ketch first. Then the mate. Leaving you for last, Calverton.” Bolan allowed the following silence to stretch. “Better do what he says,” Ketch suggested. “But—” Calverton protested. “He has the gun,” Ketch pointed out.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Don Pendleton

Publisher: Gold Eagle

ISBN: 9780373644100

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 811

When a mole passes on sensitive information to an international human trafficking ring, resulting in the execution of two U.S. agents, Mack Bolan, going solo - and in under the radar, must elude a professional "cleaner" to take down a crime syndicate. Original.

Lives of Distinguished American Naval Officers

a largest Tripolitan gun - boats was missing next morning , and the people of the port were seen hauling on shore three ... From these circumstances , Preble inferred that the large boat had boarded the ketch , and that the others were ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Fenimore Cooper

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015016754593

Category:

Page:

View: 599

Tenth Census of the United States 1880 Newspapers periodicals Alaska ship building

12 guns . 2 guns . Ship Richard , for London , 100 tons , 14 men , Pink Olive Branch , for Barbadoes , 45 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . Ketch Hopewell , for Madeira , 40 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . Ship Trident , for Barbadoes , 140 tons , 15 men ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: United States. Census Office. 10th census, 1880

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSB:31205011657960

Category: United States

Page:

View: 197

Census Reports Tenth Census

Ship Richard , for London , 100 tons , 14 men , 12 guns . Pink Olive Branch , for Barbadoes , 45 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . Ketch Hopewell , for Madeira , 40 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . . Ship Trident , for Barbadoes , 140 tons , 15 men ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: United States. Census Office

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:C3292550

Category: United States

Page:

View: 398

Ramage s Devil

... Halfhyde's Island Halfhyde and the Guns of Arrest Halfhyde to the Narrows Halfhyde for the Queen Halfhyde Ordered ... Arena The Fight for Rome BY DEWEY LAMBDIN The French Admiral The Gun Ketch A King's Commander Jester's Fortune BY ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dudley Pope

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9781590135433

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 300

Captain Lord Ramage's honeymoon in France is interrupted by a sudden end to the Peace of Amiens. Finding themselves on unfriendly soil just hours before hostilities commence, Ramage and his bride elude the grasp of Napoleon's secret police.

Report on the Ship building Industry of the United States

Ship Richard , for London , 100 tons , 14 men , 12 guns . Pink Olive Branch , for Barbadoes , 45 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . Ketch Hopewell , for Madeira , 40 tons , 7 men , 3 guns . Ship Trident , for Barbadoes , 140 tons , 15 men ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Henry Hall

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044091993295

Category: Shipbuilding

Page: 276

View: 727

Seahorse

Gabe's old first lieutenant was given command of the ketch...Ferret of sixteen guns.” “Now let's talk about your mission. Your orders will be vague out of necessity. We have been given reliable in- formation that the French will sign a ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Aye

Publisher: Bitingduck Press LLC

ISBN: 9780917990915

Category: Sailing

Page:

View: 773

BOOK 4 of THE FIGHTING ANTHONYS series. A needful nation calls. Admiral Lord Anthony has just returned from Gabe's wedding and is finally able to relax with Lady Deborah and their new daughter. Then the Admiralty's messenger arrives. Lord Anthony has been given command of His Majesty's ships in the West Indies.

World Historical Fiction

... Harry , Silent Sea , 5133 Hough , Richard , Buller's Dreadnought , 4049 ; Buller's Guns , 4050 ; Buller's Victory ... Success to the Brave , 3454 ; A Tradition of Victory , 2900 Lambdin , Dewey , The Gun Ketch , 5797 ; HMS Cockerel ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lynda G. Adamson

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 1573560669

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 719

View: 707

An annotated bibliography covering the best in historical fiction set all around the world

The Letters of Samuel Pepys 1656 1703

42 guns . Built Deptford 1646. Sold 1698 . Centurion . 34 guns . Built 1650. Wrecked 25 Dec 1689 off Plymouth . Dragon . 38 guns . Built Chatham 1647. Rebuilt 1690. Wrecked 1711 . Emsworth . 4 - gun ketch . Built Emsworth 1665.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Samuel Pepys

Publisher: Boydell Press

ISBN: 184383197X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 955

New selection of Pepys' letters throws light on his life and early career, and includes 30 never previously published.

Graham s American Monthly Magazine of Literature Art and Fashion

... then entirely ignorant of the character ner in which the ketch was lost . The gun - boats of the party sent in , leaves scarcely a doubt that anchored near the pass had been moved ; one , it was this gentleman decided accurately .

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George R. Graham

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:44332630

Category:

Page:

View: 135