The Paris Orphan

An American soldier and an enterprising photographer brave occupied France during World War II to help give a little girl the one thing she's never had--a family--in this gripping historical fiction from the internationally bestselling ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Natasha Lester

Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

ISBN: 1432877135

Category: Fiction

Page: 611

View: 807

An American soldier and an enterprising photographer brave occupied France during World War II to help give a little girl the one thing she's never had--a family--in this gripping historical fiction from the internationally bestselling author of The Paris Seamstress.stress.

The Paris Seamstress

I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." --Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say "If you're looking for a swoon-worthy romance, then The Paris Seamstress is for you.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Natasha Lester

Publisher: Forever

ISBN: 1538714779

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 626

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family. 1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she's ever known. She's bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met's annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother - a legend of women's fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life. "I loved The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah and I have a feeling that I'm going to love this dual timeline World War II novel based in war-torn France and present day." --Debbie Macomber "This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review "Fascinating and impeccably researched." --Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife "A fantastically engrossing story. I love it." --Kelly Rimmer, USA Today bestselling author "Gorgeously rich and romantic." --Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens "Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book." --Rachel Burton, author of The Things We Need to Say "If you're looking for a swoon-worthy romance, then The Paris Seamstress is for you. Natasha Lester's novel features not one but two love stories, spanning continents and centuries. ... Fans of historical romance will eat this one up." --Refinery29 Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of the Year Included in BookBub's "Best Historical Fiction Fiction Coming this Fall"

The Paris Secret

"Four women bound by war. An unspeakable sacrifice. An enduring love. And a priceless legacy."--Page 4 of cover.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Natasha Lester

Publisher: Forever

ISBN: 153871728X

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 139

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Orphan comes an unforgettable historical novel about a secret collection of Dior gowns that ties back to the first female pilots of WWII and a heartbreaking story of love and sacrifice. England, 1939: The Penrose sisters couldn't be more different. Skye is a daring and brash pilot, and Liberty the one to defy her at every turn. Even if women aren't allowed in the Royal Air Force, Skye is determined to help the war effort. She's thrilled when it reunites her with her childhood soulmate, Nicholas. She's less thrilled to learn Nicholas is now engaged to an enigmatic Frenchwoman named Margaux Jourdan. Paris, 1947: Designer Christian Dior unveils his glamorous first collection to a world weary of war and grief. He names his debut fragrance Miss Dior in tribute to his beloved sister Catherine, who forged a friendship with Skye and Margaux through her work with the French Resistance. Present Day: Fashion conservator Kat Jourdan discovers a priceless collection of Dior gowns in her grandmother's vacant cottage. As she delves into the mystery of their origin, Kat begins to doubt everything she thought she knew about her beloved grandmother.

The Last Colonel of the Irish Brigade

The Masses are to be celebrated by the priests of the Madeleine , in Paris , and of the country parishes of Chaumont ... The other charities are - Providence Asylum , Paris ; Refuge for Boys , Paris ; Female Penitents , Paris ; Orphan ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Anne Bianconi O'Connell ("Mrs. Morgan John O'Connell.")

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044058167792

Category:

Page:

View: 975

Paris Orphan

Hannah Abramov, a 12-year-old from The Marais, and Jack Lamont, a former war photographer's assistant for the Chicago Tribune, develop a friendship at Saint-Coeur-de-Marie boarding school on rue de Picpus. “Paris Orphan: Escape from Evil ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Charles Loebbaka

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 1494483939

Category: Fiction

Page: 278

View: 960

A young Jewish orphan is sheltered at a Catholic boarding school in 1942 after Paris police imprison her parents and thousands of Jews in detention centers. When her orphan friend is arrested, she fears the gendarmes will come after her, too. An American newspaperman sought by Nazis and French police hides as the gardener at the school after French police find him with his lover, a university student fighting the Nazi occupation of France. Her colleagues devise a daring plan for him to flee the country. Hannah Abramov, a 12-year-old from The Marais, and Jack Lamont, a former war photographer's assistant for the Chicago Tribune, develop a friendship at Saint-Coeur-de-Marie boarding school on rue de Picpus. “Paris Orphan: Escape from Evil,” the new novel by author Charles Loebbaka, is the story of their dangerous journey to stay a step ahead of arrest and possible death. Based on World War Two historical events and accounts of individuals, their story is a true-to-life narrative of life or death in war-torn France. Their survival depends on British female covert agents in France; a hot-tempered French underground leader; a Swiss Red Cross home that cares for displaced children; Basque smugglers and Jewish guerrillas who help refugees; and the mistress of the Gestapo commander in the south of France. Agent Glynis Blake is sent to southern France by Britain's Special Operations Executive to take charge of an espionage and sabotage unit. She teams up with agent Denise Golinska, wireless operator for the covert cell. They partner with Gaston Renard, a French Resistance leader in the Aquitaine area. Isabelle Christiane Despres, mistress of SS-Sturmbannführer Karl Herrmann, a Gestapo commander in southern France, is a woman with a secret known only to her bodyguard/chauffeur. Orphans displaced by the war and with no contact with their families make plans to set out on their own from their safe haven at a Swiss-run boarding house. The lives of the characters are changed forever in unexpected ways by their experiences that take place from 1942 in Europe to 1948 in the Mideast. “Paris Orphan: Escape from Evil” is a sequel to Loebbaka's first historical fiction novel, “Love and Death in Paris.” It begins in 1945.* * * “I'm ready, Jacques.” Jack Lamont turned in his yard to see his guest walking toward him with one piece of luggage. He took Brigitte Kahane's suitcase, set it down, and held her hands. “I have something I want to give you before Millicent takes you back to Europe,” he said. He took Katrine Bouchet's gold necklace from his pocket, reached behind her neck, and hooked the ends together. Katrine's best friend held the gold cross in her fingers for a moment. “I will wear it always,” she said. “I have a gift for you.” She fastened a bracelet to his left wrist. Katrine's gold band with the Virgin Mary medal and the twelve stars that represent the Apostles and Tribes of Israel glittered in the sunshine. Jack looked for the last time at the tattoo on Brigitte's left forearm: 168495. They clasped hands and said goodbye. He walked to the small apple tree in his late mother's yard and plucked an apple. He wondered again about the orphan, the red-haired girl who loved apples.

Rereading Orphanhood

And while her guardians watch their Big House burning, Lois is already exiled by her aunt in Paris. Orphan Lois is, as Peters says of orphans generally, 'of the nation but simultaneously outside it', and her aunt prevents her from ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Diane Warren

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 9781474464383

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 269

Rereading Orphanhood: Texts, Inheritance, Kin explores the ways in which the figure of the literary orphan can be used to illuminate our understanding of the culture and mores of the long nineteenth century, especially those relating to family and kinship.

The Paris Apartment

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices—perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris. 2017, London: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Kelly Bowen

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781538718148

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 507

This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices—perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris. 2017, London: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets—including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment’s walls. Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn’t hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can’t know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come. Set seventy-five years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must unearth hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history—and their family’s futures—forever.

Catalogue

34.34 Florence , the Paris Orphan . E. B. Lee . Boston , 1852. 16o . 61.55 Florence of Worcester . Chronicle ; tr.by T.Forester . Lon . , 1854 . p.8o . 74.49 Florence Stories . J. Abbott . New York , 1864. 6 v . 16o . Vol . 1.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Newton Free Library

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:090684763

Category:

Page: 248

View: 143

Reports on the Paris Universal Exhibition 1867

Royal Commission for the Paris Universal Exhibition ... a quarterly payment is required for one year , viz . , 6s . weekly for boys not orphans , 5s . for orphan boys ; 5s . weekly for girls not orphans , 4s . for orphan girls .

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Great Britain. Royal Commission for the Paris Universal Exhibition

Publisher:

ISBN: ONB:+Z174715704

Category:

Page: 465

View: 723

Reports on the Paris Universal Exhibition 1867 Presented to Both Houses of Parliament by Command of Her Majesty Containing the returns relative to the new order of reward

Royal Commission for the Paris Exhibition (1867) ... except those on the free list , a quarterly payment is required for one year , viz . , 6s . weekly for boys not orphans , 5s . for orphan boys ; 58. weekly for girls not orphans ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Great Britain. Royal Commission for the Paris Exhibition (1867)

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0022882037

Category: Art and industry

Page: 272

View: 932