The Spanish Daughter

When he settled in Spain , he changed his name in deference to his maternal ancestors , whose ruined lordships he now possesses , having discharged a debt upon them nearly equal to their value , and cultivated them in a manner worthy of ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George Butt

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HN62JR

Category:

Page: 226

View: 403

The Spanish Daughter

LORENA HUGHES a novel THE SPANISH DAUGHTER " An engrossing , suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns . " -Chanel Cleeton , New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana THE SPANISH DAUGHTER LORENA ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lorena Hughes

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 9781496736260

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 495

“An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns.” —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana “With an equal mix of historical fiction, dramatic family conflict, and mystery, this tale should please fans of Christina Baker Kline, Lisa Wingate, and Kate Quinn.” —Booklist The Washington Post Books to Read Now | Ms. Magazine Reads for the Rest of Us | Bustle Most Anticipated Books | PopSugar Best Books | BiblioLifestyle Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books | Book Riot Book Recommendations | Finer Things Book Lover Gifts They’ll Actually Love Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the “birthplace of cacao.” As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it’s not until his death that she learns of something else she’s inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed “París Chiquito.” Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the estate… When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father’s legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim… “A lush Ecuadoran cacao plantation is the setting for this imaginative historical drama filled with sibling rivalry and betrayals. Threaded throughout this dramatic family saga are descriptions of cocoa-making that will leave your mouth watering for chocolate.” —The Washington Post “A sweepingly elegant historical novel.” —Ms. Magazine “A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals.” —Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens “Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land.” —Foreword Reviews STARRED REVIEW “Engrossing…As addictive as chocolate.” —Publishers Weekly “Richly captivating.” —Woman’s World “A fascinating historical.”—PopSugar

The Spanish Daughter Sneak Peek

If you would like to share your thoughts online, please use the hashtag #TheSpanishDaughter and you can find me at www.lorena-hughes.com. With gratitude, Lorena Hughes, author of The Spanish Daughter.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lorena Hughes

Publisher: Kensington Books

ISBN: 9781496739087

Category: Fiction

Page: 47

View: 226

Be one of the first to read this sneak peek from the award-winning author of The Sisters of Alameda Street, set against the lush backdrop of early twentieth century Ecuador and inspired by the real-life history of the coastal town known as the birthplace of cacao, it is the captivating story of a resourceful young chocolatier who must impersonate a man in order to survive . . . Puri inherited two things from her father: a passion for chocolate, and a cacao plantation located in Ecuador. After learning the art of chocolate-making from her grandmother, Puri opened a chocolate shop in her native Spain. But the Great War that devastated Europe has also ruined her business. Eager to learn more about the source of her beloved chocolate, Puri sets out across the ocean with her husband, Cristóbal. But someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the plantation . . . When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she learns the truth. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the plantation—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim . . .

Rodrigo or the Spanish Daughter A tragedy In verse

PROL O G U E. In those brave days , by bards so often sung ; When love was sacred , and chivalry was young ; When Spain was blossoming her blighted power , And the dark Moors , darker fate began to lour ; Liv'd Cid Rodrigo , born in a ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: E J. Albo

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0019361878

Category:

Page: 43

View: 817

The Spanish Daughter

The collection is sourced from the remarkable library of Victor Amadeus, whose Castle Corvey collection was one of the most spectacular discoveries of the late 1970s.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: George Butt

Publisher: Gale Ncco, Print Editions

ISBN: 137532439X

Category:

Page:

View: 441

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The collection is sourced from the remarkable library of Victor Amadeus, whose Castle Corvey collection was one of the most spectacular discoveries of the late 1970s. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important collections of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere -- including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry, and more -- with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers. The Corvey library was built during the last half of the 19th century by Victor and his wife Elise, both bibliophiles with varied interests. The collection thus contains everything from novels and short stories to belles lettres and more populist works, and includes many exceedingly rare works not available in any other collection from the period. These invaluable, sometimes previously unknown works are of particular interest to scholars and researchers. European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes: * Novels and Gothic Novels * Short Stories * Belles-Lettres * Short Prose Forms * Dramatic Works * Poetry * Anthologies * And more Selected with the guidance of an international team of expert advisors, these primary sources are invaluable for a wide range of academic disciplines and areas of study, providing never before possible research opportunities for one of the most studied historical periods. Additional Metadata Primary Id: B0981802 PSM Id: NCCOF0063-C00000-B0981802 DVI Collection Id: NCCOC0062 Bibliographic Id: NCCO021389 Reel: 8484 MCODE: 4UVC Original Publisher: Knight & Lacey, M. A. Nattali Original Publication Year: 1824 Original Publication Place: London Original Imprint Manufacturer: Shackell and Arrowsmith

Rodrigo

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: E. J. Aldo

Publisher:

ISBN: OCLC:79552961

Category:

Page:

View: 689

DICTIONARY OF NATIONAL BIOGRAPHY

Butt was retained as counsel title of The Spanish Daughter ; ' it is a dreary in many great causes , and was one of those production . who defended Smith O'Brien and other pri[ Mrs. Sherwood's Biographical Preface to the soners in the ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: LESLIE STEPHEN

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 402

Dictionary of National Biography

The lord chancellor , Sir was edited and published by his daughter , Edward Sugden , called him to the inner bar Mrs. Sherwood , in 2 vols . 1824 , under the 2 Nov. 1844. Butt was retained as counsel title of . The Spanish Daughter ...

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B2985126

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 679