The Wire in the Blood (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 2)

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Val McDermid

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007327609

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 3247

Val McDermid’s Number One bestselling crime series, featuring psychological profiler Dr Tony Hill and Jacko Vance – protagonist of new novel THE RETRIBUTION – in the suspenseful and ferociously readable thriller that led to the much-loved TV show.

The Wire in the Blood

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Val McDermid

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada

ISBN: 1443401803

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 3699

Val McDermid stunned readers and critics alike with the publication of her brilliant thriller A Place Of Execution, which won the Anthony, McCavity, and the Los Angeles Times awards. Now in The Wire In The Blood, she continues her trademark ingenuity for suspense as criminal profiler Tony Hill must find a killer like none other he's ever encountered before... Across the country, dozens of teenage girls have vanished. Authorities are convinced they're runaways with just the bad luck of the draw to connect them. It's the job of criminal profilers Dr. Tony Hill and Carol Jordan to look for a pattern. They've spent years exploring the psyches of madmen. But sane men kill too. And when they hide in plain sight, they can be difficult to find... He's handsome and talented, rich and famous -- a notorious charmer with the power to seduce. And the will to destroy. No one can believe what he's capable of. No one can imagine what he's already done. And no one can fathom what he's about to do next. Until one of Hill's students is murdered -- the first move in a sick and violent game for three players. Now, of all the killers Hill and Jordan have hunted, none has been so ruthless, so terrifyingly clever, and so brilliantly elusive as the killer who's hunting them...

In the Province of Saints

A Novel

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas O'Malley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316028487

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 778

O'Malley sets a haunting local mystery against the tense backdrop of a country tormented by bloodshed and deep schisms. In the tradition of Seamus Deane and John McGahern, a stirring, beautifully written, but unsentimental portrait of an Irish boyhood. Thomas O'Malley's work has appeared in literary journals such as "Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, Shenandoah, Gulf Stream, and "Blue Mesa Review".

The Routledge History of Literature in English

Britain and Ireland

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Ronald Carter,John McRae

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780415243186

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 570

View: 4834

This completely updated and expanded 2nd edition covers the main developments in the history of British and Irish literature and, uniquely, includes accompanying language notes exploring the interrelationships between language and literature.

Washed in the Blood

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Shelton L. Williams

Publisher: Rogers Publishing & Consulting, Inc

ISBN: 9780977755868

Category: True Crime

Page: 181

View: 3602

"Washed in the Blood" is a page-turning read about the the rowdy oil boom days of the early 1960s in Odessa, Texas, when violence often rode the range. It is at once an examination of local mores and foibles, piety and hypocrisy, and an inside-look at the famed Kiss and Kill murder of a 17-year old would-be actress, Betty Jean Williams.

Rutherford's Vascular Surgery E-Book

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jack L. Cronenwett,K. Wayne Johnston

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 0323243061

Category: Medical

Page: 114

View: 4802

Published in association with the Society for Vascular Surgery, Rutherford’s Vascular Surgery presents state-of-the-art updates on all aspects of vascular health care. Extensively revised by many new authors to meet the needs of surgeons, interventionalists, and vascular medicine specialists, this medical reference book incorporates medical, endovascular and surgical treatment, as well as diagnostic techniques, decision making and fundamental vascular biology. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Master the latest developments, techniques, and approaches with thorough updates on endovascular applications, vascular access, imaging, non-operative management, and much more. View clinical and physical findings and operative techniques more vividly with a full-color layout and images. Get answers you can depend on. Rutherford's delivers the world’s most trusted information on all major areas of vascular health care, is written by international experts, and includes up-to-date bibliographies and annotated recommended references. Discover emerging techniques in rapidly advancing topics, with special emphasis on endovascular coverage, vascular imaging, angiography, CT and MRI. Explore brand new chapters on dialysis catheters, renovascular disease, and management of branches during endovascular aneurysm. Stay up-to-date with the latest coverage of endovascular procedures that reflects the changing practices and techniques in vascular surgery. Access videos at Expert Consult.

Blood Money

Bo, the Early Years

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Keith Deaver

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469188961

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 3893

Clarence E. Bownen nicknamed Bo was the only child of a strange couple. His mothers father was one of the wealthiest people in Bos small town. His father had begun a life of crime to help support his siblings at a very young age. Sent to the finest Catholic school, the child genius also studied his fathers mistakes as a criminal. Weighing his options, Bo decided that he would be retired by the time his classmates fi nish college. With help from his fathers only friend, Bo and his felon partner George dive into a world of money and power beyond Bos wildest dreams.

The Wire

Truth Be Told

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Rafael Alvarez

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439184523

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 288

View: 8766

Welcome to the critically acclaimed HBO drama series The Wire, hailed as "the best show on television, period" by the San Francisco Chronicle. The New York Times calls it "a vital part of the television landscape...unvarnished realism." Time declares that The Wire, "like its underfunded, workaday cops, just plugged away until it outshone everything else on TV." The Wire stands not only as riveting drama but also as a sociopolitical treatise with ambitions beyond any television serial. The failure of the drug war, the betrayal of the working class, the bureaucratization of the culture and the cost to individual dignity -- such are the themes of the drama's first two seasons. And with every new episode of season three and beyond, another layer of modern urban life will be revealed. Gritty, densely layered, and realistic, The Wire is series television at its very best, told from the point of view of the Baltimore police, their targets, and many of those caught in the middle. Rafael Alvarez -- a reporter, essayist, and staff writer for the show -- brings the reader inside, detailing many of the real-life incidents and personalities that have inspired the show's storylines and characters, providing the reader with insights into the city of Baltimore -- itself an undeniable character in the series. Packed with photographs and featuring an introduction by series creator and executive producer David Simon, as well as essays by acclaimed authors George Pelecanos, Laura Lippman, and Anthony Walton, here is an invaluable resource for both fans of the show and viewers who have yet to discover The Wire. Hollywood has long used the cop drama to excite and entertain, and Hollywood has always dictated the terms. But The Wire is filmed entirely in Baltimore, conceived by Baltimoreans, and written by rust-belt journalists and novelists intimately familiar with the urban landscape. It's as close as television has yet come to allowing an American city to tell its own tale.

The Blood of Paradise

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stephen Goodwin

Publisher: University of Virginia Press

ISBN: 9780813918778

Category: Fiction

Page: 242

View: 4243

Stephen Goodwin's second novel is an emblematic tale of the sixties, of a sophisticated couple going back to the land. The restlessness that compels Anna and Steadman to move from the city to a small mountain farm in Virginia is brought into high relief by the cycles of the natural world, and by the arrival of Anna's demonic twin sister. Goodwin's prose, by turns stark and pastoral, outlines these struggles while leavening them with self-effacing humor and beauty. Peopled with hippies and mountain folk, artists and farmers both organic and traditional, not to mention an unforgettable child, The Blood of Paradise evokes an era through a sensitive and unstinting portrait of marriage.